Possible silly question via /r/Bullion


Possible silly question

So I'm getting interested in buying gold and silver. I'm just getting started. I'm super new to this. I'm pretty far from some investor following the market and buying stocks in mines (That's something people do, I think? Forgive me if I'm mistaken. Once again, quite new.)

I just bought one coin at my post office (I don't know if this is the case anywhere else, but they sell them in post offices in Canada) and it came in this fancy case. It had this little piece of paper talking about the coin.

So, my question is this. Do I need that case and paper for it to have value?

I'm not going to lie, this is sort of fulfillment of a childhood dream on my part. Growing up, I just liked the idea of having a little bag of coins. Maybe a full on chest if I ever get enough of them. Though by that point, I'm sure I'd be some hardcore investor who wanted to store them somewhere serious. So little bag that I toss to my henchman as payment it is.

I realize this means I'm not taking it as some super serious investment (Though I suppose I could eventually sell them if I needed to, or pass them on to kids, or whatever) it's just fulfillment of a childhood dream.

But I figure if they loose value without that piece of paper/case, I might as well just use normal coins.

I guess what I'm asking is – What does just keeping the coin (And that plastic case they come in. I want em looking nice. Not all scratched up.) do to the value? It's silver, so I'm sure it's still worth something, but will a pawnshop buyer give me the run around with out all that fancy shit?

Sorry if any of this is stupid (Beyond the inherently juvenile fantasy of just having a pouch of silver/gold coins) it's just something I've been wondering since buying that guy.

Submitted May 11, 2016 at 08:25PM by Shitpostingmonster
via reddit http://bit.ly/1rYn6sR

Leave a Reply

