$50 bill from 2013 with the letters “CSY” on the right side of the front of the bill; is it worth anything? via /r/numismatics


$50 bill from 2013 with the letters “CSY” on the right side of the front of the bill; is it worth anything?

I don't mean to sound like some ignorant asshole, so please forgive me if I do, but–as mentioned in the title–I have a $50 bill from 2013 with the letters "CSY" on the right side of the front of the bill and I'm wondering if that makes the bill worth anything other than its face value. Aforementioned letters are oriented in such a way that you have to turn the bill 90° counterclockwise to see the letters right side up.

I searched Google for at least ten minutes to see if I could find anything one way or the other and all I could discover (after rewording the inquiry numerous times) is that it doesn't seem to be a normal feature of $50s. I couldn't find a single image with "CSY" on the bill.

I checked to see if the bill was legit, and it seems to pass the usual checks (it has the appropriate watermarks and security strip and whatnot).

So… yeah. Is it worth anything? And if not, can someone at least tell me what the "CSY" stands for and why it's on the bill at all and apparently not on other $50s?

Please and thank you for any help anyone may be able to provide.

Submitted April 29, 2017 at 09:52PM by Miu_Iruma
via reddit

Leave a Reply

